secret keeper

She kept her heart tied up in the cellar

I’d visit

From time to time

Laying kisses on the palpitating thrusts

Signs of life

Reaching from her insides

Left out

But locked away

Exposed

But left to fray

She kept her mind sealed up in the attic

I’d visit

Occasionally

Rubbing temples no longer connected to her entity

Cries of strife

Poured out

Left over from

From her past life

The day she asked me to stay

There was a little box inside her hands

“Open it”

She said

In a breath so sweet

I had instant cavities

“Open it”

She said

Before I fully took off the top of the box

Revealing the key beneath the lid

She threw her arms around my neck

Whispering…

“It might be the last thing I’ll regret.”

One response to “secret keeper

  1. Beautiful words.

Leave a comment