sound and magic ♥ momentary thief

I was checking up on tour dates for some of my favorite artists, and then started youtubing…and happened upon this older song of Chris’s. I hadn’t played it in a while but now it’s currently the song I play the most…it seems. Idk, it just sits right. Although it makes me want to cry in moments….other moments it’s like a lullaby…not even one of my favorite songs….but right now it’s just what I need to hear.

Chris Pureka, Momentary Thief

“Well I never won you over,
I just caught you on a good day…
We were laughing in the back
of an old city taxi,
with no mention of my borrowed time,
just the glow of the whiskey
and the holiday lights.

Well there’s no need to name this,
because we’re just going to call it a day…
so you can run out in the front yard
and wave goodbye to the plane…

But I remember the corner,
the bar and the moment
that I came un-tethered and fell,
into that scene from my favorite movie,
yeah you know the one…

Well, I’ll tell you what,
I’ll save you the trouble of running away.
yeah I’ll tell you what,
I’ll save you the trouble of running away,
yeah I’m already gone out the door
and I stole this moment for me,
this moment for me….

Well you’re no kind of contrast
to all my somber ways,
we may as well have a picnic darlin’
out in the driving, pouring rain,
but I’ll just carry on,
pretend that’s just how I’m inclined.
So you better grab a hold of something,
steady, steady, ’cause I’m cutting the line…

But I remember your shoulder,
your breath and the moment,
that I came un-tethered and danced,
into that dream, the one where you kiss me
and then the camera flashed…

Well, I’ll tell you what,
I’ll save you the trouble of running away.
Yeah I’ll tell you what,
I’ll save you the trouble of running away,
yeah I’m already gone out the door
and I stole this moment for me,
this moment for me, this moment for me,
indelible and bright….”

www.chrispureka.com

Leave a Reply

